If I Applied to Stanford…

As January arrives, the college-application season is ending. Many of my friends have finished applying to the colleges of their choice. A handful of them ambitiously sought prestigious schools such as Brown University, University of Pennsylvania, and Cornell University. Stanford University, however, was the most popular out of those schools to apply to, and also the most competitive.

For me, I would have no business existing at Stanford if I got accepted, and that’s a big if. However, there is this one prompt that my friends talk much about because almost all of them enjoyed writing an essay for it. The prompt is:

Virtually all of Stanford’s undergraduates live on campus. Write a note to your future roommate that reveals something about you or that will help your roommate — and us — know you better. (250 words or less)

I wished one of the schools I applied to included this prompt in their application. I’ve enjoyed addressing the writing prompts for college essays, but this one evoked a distinct creativity that other essays didn’t. What I like best about it is the ability it gives me to indirectly express who I am on an interpersonal level. I like that the college can see how I meet new people. I excel in making first impressions, and this essay allows me to do just that.

Granted, it’s too late to apply to Stanford, but that doesn’t stop me from writing their supplement. Here is what came to my head:

Dear my future Watson,

Click! That’s the sound you hear when I take a picture of you walking into our new room. I want to remember exactly the first time we meet as we start the next year of our lives together. I better get to the shop and develop it.

You should come with me; we’ll get some coffee and paninis on the way. But I should warn you – we’ll be at the diner for a while. Not because I’m a slow eater, but because I spend at least twenty minutes taking pictures of my food before I eat. You should check out some of those pictures out on http://www.flickr.com/photos/112321297@N03/sets.

Oh, that reminds me. You get a ticket for a free photoshoot from me anytime you want. It’s how I treat all my new friends. There’s one little condition I have though. You have to start taking pictures as well. Don’t worry, I have a spare camera just for you. Don’t tell me you aren’t good at photography; I don’t care. You’ll get the hang of it. We’ll snap our shutters away in front of the Hoover Tower and the Main Quad until it gets dark. We’ll “creep” on students walking by the Oval. We’ll hang our pictures at the Cantor Center. We’ll be nothing this school has ever seen!

Pardon me, that’s my inner photographer rattling on again. I listen to it often. Once you meet him, you’ll go crazy.

One thought on “If I Applied to Stanford…

  1. That was probably one of the best supplements I’ve ever read. It really shows your passion for photography and I can definitely see your personality shining through your words. I especially loved your greeting – “Dear my future Watson” 🙂 Best of luck on college admissions (you won’t need it)!

Leave a Reply

